Dandelion Wishes

Dear Little Baby,

You and I are living life together right now, and it won’t be much longer until I am no longer feeling your sweet kicks or your tumbling practice. With only a couple of weeks left until you make your grand entrance, I’m soaking up every second of this time with you. Right now, your little hands are waving “hello” and leaving loving marks on my belly. And your sleep patterns keep telling me I should probably be resting too–of course, that’s just a nice desire that I haven’t really gotten to enjoy.

In a short while, I’ll be teaching those same hands how to be gentle with others, how to give generously without being asked, how to throw a ball as far and fast as you’re able. We’ll do everything from finger-painting to painting on canvas and making sand castles by the shore. And, of course, I’ll teach your hands how to respect and play an instrument. Today your hands are tiny, but one day they will be waving goodbye as you embrace life and the unique journey God calls you to. I won’t hold your hands for very long, but I’ll hold this unique time in my heart forever.

I want you to excel in every single area, little one. Perfection is unrealistic. Only Jesus was perfect and that’s because He is God. Excellence, however, should be pursued and taken seriously. Whatever your gifts, know that it takes perseverance, training and dedication to enhance a skill. Anyone can be good at things, but those who are excellent at something are so because they spent the time and put forth the effort to go beyond the norm. Work hard and don’t settle for mediocrity or it will become acceptable in all areas of life. God gave you a brain, so use it. He gave you hands, so work with them. He gave you feet, so move where He leads and He gave you life–so no matter what–LIVE it! Time is precious and is not meant to be wasted. Work hard all the days of your life and never stop using your gifts. Don’t ever waste the time He has given you.

You’ll face troubles in this world and I won’t be able to stop the pain you will face. I don’t know what will come your way, but I do know every moment is a teachable one and there are lessons to be learned in every situation. Try and embrace whatever burdens you face knowing there truly is a reason and God wants you to cling to Him and learn whatever it is He’s trying to teach you. Sometimes, my little man, things happen because you are making poor choices and you need to be corrected. Sometimes things will happen, though, because others have made choices that impact you and cause you to hurt or be in conflict. Know it’s your job to keep on loving and forgiving. Forgiveness is another topic for another time, but whatever may be the root  cause of the trial, don’t stay in the valley of darkness. Keep pressing on knowing there will come a day when the pain will be lifted and it won’t be so dark anymore. And on that day, you’ll be so much wiser and able to better process and handle the next trial. And, you will be able to help other people face their own struggles because you have been there and know there is another side to the page.

All we are given is this day. You never know when your time will come, so live life with passion, with wisdom and with grace. Know that age has nothing to do with maturity. People can grow old without ever growing up. Every person is born with a blank slate before them and it’s up to them to turn that blank slate into an intricately beautiful masterpiece filled with depth and vibrancy.

I pray you will grow mature in every way. First and foremost, I want you to be spiritually mature because your beliefs about God will impact every other decision you make. From how you spend your time, to how you use your gifts. To the people you allow yourself to be influenced by and the choices you make in the company you keep. If you accept Christ as your Savior (and this is my primary and fervent prayer), that should be evident in how you grow and develop in all these areas and so many more. You should be mature in how you make and spend His money (it’s all His), how you speak to others, how you serve Him in church, in society and in your home.  It doesn’t happen by mere osmosis or wishful thinking. Surround yourself with those who exhibit the character qualities you desire to have and be humble enough to learn from them. Be a respectable man who knows how to follow so that you may also be able to lead.

There are many things and people who will try to steal your attention away from the Lord. As long as you live on this earth you must make learning and living out His Word your number one priority or you’ll quickly be swept up by other things. Of course, this is assuming you will trust and believe in Christ on your own. My faith has nothing to do with yours. I pray that God will open your eyes and heart to His Truth and you will know Him as your Lord. If you truly live for Him, everything else will fall into place. But remember–obedience is costly! Christ gave His life as a sacrificial offering and if you are His disciple, you will have to make sacrifices as well. It will not always be easy–but it will be rewarding and He will give you all the strength you need to do whatever He asks. This I promise. Beware of anyone who tries to tell you that everything should come easy and life with Christ is a cakewalk. Completely untrue. Practice discernment at all times when it comes to who you are listening to and always, always, always study Scripture for yourself to know when error is being told. You can’t truly know God without truly knowing His Word.

Well, precious baby, I’m so looking forward to our first 4th of July together, taking you to the parade every year, going to the beach, fishing, camping, dying Easter eggs and taking lots of pictures in the bluebonnets! We’ll make plenty of memories as a family and I’m so excited. This is a new season that will never come again and one that I know will have it’s fair share of struggles–but one where the joy will far outweigh any of those things.

Know I love you even though I haven’t yet met you. I’m your parent and it’s my job to teach you, shelter you and help you grow into a man who will go off and impact this world (hopefully in a positive way!). I will make more than a few mistakes (and your daddy will too), and we will need your forgiveness along the way. You’re a gift on loan to us from above and no matter what this chapter with you as the title holds, it is one I’m so grateful was written.

With Curious Expectation,

Your Mommy

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Amber says:

    Tears 🙂 you are such a beautiful and gifted writer. Beautiful letter!

  2. Kristen says:

    Love love love!! I could hardly read the whole thing, it brought tears to my eyes. I meant to do something like this for Emmy and just never got around to it. I haven’t even written in her baby book and she’ll be two in July. The joys of being too busy… 😦

  3. Brenda says:

    What a precious letter! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, along with your special gift of writing. You think you love him now—-just wait til you finally get to hold the little guy—as time goes on, your love will only grow.

  4. Joanne says:

    Wow, dear friend… God has provided a talent with words that is unmatched to any other that I know. What a gift for Baby Boy!

    I read the last paragraph of meaningful words to my kiddo and he said, “wow! That makes me feel very nice inside. That would indicate to me that you love me VERY much!”. When he found out who wrote it and to whom…. He said, “That only makes sense. Gabbie’s loves Baby Frat and so does Greg!” amen and amen! We continue to pray for y’all!

Leave a Reply

