The Piano and Me: Transitions (Part 2)

Disclaimer: The piano involved in this story should not be held liable for a two-day delay in posting her results. The owner (me) takes full responsibility because of varying factors that kept said owner from fulfilling the original time frame given of sharing “Part 2” of her story. If you haven’t read Part 1, you can do so here.

Part 2: Once Husband gave the “okay” (and the cash), I had the old lady (we established in the previous post this is a term of endearment for the piano, not a person), sent home. Sitting in front of the living room window, she looked perfectly in place. Though the beautiful rays of light were streaming through, however, she wasn’t sparkling quite the way I knew she should. Just because her family had given up on her, she didn’t deserve to be tossed aside by all others—she just needed someone who believed her days weren’t done and dry her lonely tears…that’s where I stepped in, determined to give her a new lease on life.

I willingly admit I’m a bird of a different feather and boredom is my best friend. I dream of living anywhere other than where I am now (it’s not that I’m not content in my faith, for anyone tempted to make assumptions). I know more than a few creative souls and I’m not alone in my desire to constantly go and be and do and see—I’m just honest about it. I love taking in other cultures and planning a future in a foreign land. While I find beauty in most things, I struggle with finding beauty where I currently live. To me, it’s a concrete jungle with no oceans, mountains or rolling hills in sight—A big melting pot of madness…you get the point. I can say this because I live here, so I’m talking about my own place of residence and not frivolously knocking something I know nothing about. All that to say, my dear reader(s), is that I try to surround myself with things I do love looking at, listening to, reading, etc.

You can tell a lot about someone by what is in their space, where they would most like to go or enjoy having explored. So when it came to putting this old piano in my space, I knew in her state she would stick out like a sore thumb. When thinking of how she should look, I took in some of the things that I enjoy and while these two pictures are very different, they share many of the same elements of color…

I’ve wanted to take on this project for quite some time and actually had no clue other people had painted their pianos. Sadly, I found out there were other painted pianos in the world and she would not be alone in her transformation. While it turned out that tackling such a goal wasn’t a completely foreign concept, I also didn’t get the idea by seeing other people do this. I don’t know their reasons or personal stories, but I do hope they respect the instrument and aren’t just out to do a large craft project. I put a great deal of thought into what this piano should look like moving forward because my  journey was about something deeper than simply painting a piano. After looking at several, I decided while some were quite pretty, they didn’t sing the way my new friend should. If she was going to be in my space on a daily basis then she had to be a true original—no fakes or copy cats allowed. Honest creativity never steals someone else’s ideas but dreams up their own vision and knows who they are as an individual. With that, I went shopping for her new look.

Just like the piano, I should have been born in a different decade. I grew up listening to Etta James, Billie Holliday, Frank Sinatra, Elvis, Wanda Jackson, Buddy Holly and the list goes on…I love all things rockabilly–from the hair, to the clothes and of course…the music. I love the ocean and the smell of salt water. I love exploring new ideas and taking in other cultures. I dream of airline prices that weren’t so ridiculous I could still hop on one and go when the wind blows. But, since the airlines are ridiculous for those of us who don’t have Trump for a last name, I have to resort to staring at my pictures, reading my books and imagining myself being in another place…like Spain, Africa or JAMAICA! Husband and I actually chose to get married in Jamaica–just the two of us (and some very supportive strangers cheering us on). We have great memories of our wedding and continue to be extremely glad we were true to who we were/are. I adore how colorful the country is and I love how full of life the people are.

I decided when choosing the paint color that the original color scheme I intended was not bright enough–it looked a little too dull for my tastes. I’m eccentric, quirky and love life…this piano needed to be bold and confident in her uniqueness. So, instead of going with a deeper blue/aqua color, I went with a bright turquoise that reminded me of the Caribbean and red stripes as a nod to my love for the music of a gone but never forgotten era. I’m still working on a name for her, but this is my Caribbean Rockabilly gal. I hope you see her beauty for what it is and appreciate the fact that there’s no one else like her in the world.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ann Nolen says:

    I think your piano is BEAUTIFUL!! Who would have thought that tired looking piano could become a work of art. Kudos to the people who made this happen. Thanks for sharing the beautiful story that accompanies this transformation.

Leave a Reply

