The Piano and Me: Transitions (Part 1)

If you don’t know, I sing (you can read more here). And if your curiosity gets the best of you, you can listen to a song here. Before I ever began making music professionally, I sang as a little tyke at home with a broom for my mic., and the back porch as my stage. And when I say little, I mean two and three years old–I literally don’t remember not singing. I started taking classical voice when I was 9 and signed a major recording contract at 18 (I’m skipping a whole lot of details, but I lived a couple of lifetimes worth at a young age). Truth be told, my life is completely foreign to me these days and it’s safe to say I’m lost in the transition of it all. While I’ve tried very hard to integrate into a normal existence over the last several years, I’m about the farthest thing from “normal” (whatever that is!). Whether I have a million irons in the fire, or it’s a standard day, I get bored very easily and I desperately want to try something new all the time. Let’s face it–I’m a ball of creative energy/chaos that won’t stop. I’m not surrounded by the same people I used to make music with anymore–It’s just me and my mind on overdrive, trying to enjoy freedom and embrace new outlets.

In the process of living life, I quite enjoy and take great amusement in some of the things I find myself doing. Take my latest adventure, for example. This outlet came in the form of breathing new life into an old existence (kind of like me). The subject? This old piano:

Not the most attractive thing, I know. But, you can’t judge a book by its cover and her somewhat sad state is what inspired this journey to take place. We have a lot in common. Neither of us are getting any younger, lots of folks have listened to the music we’ve made and we both need a little TLC from being a little bruised, but not broken.

It all happened innocently enough. I was not on a mission to purchase a piano that day. But like all things that are meant to be, we found each other when I wasn’t really looking. I was strolling through a resale shop that a group of churches run (great ministry–the money from purchases goes toward helping battered women). I was so impressed with the quality of items that people donated to the store and was taking it all in…when out of the blue, there she was…this sad, lonely, abandoned piano.

When I saw this old lady (the piano, not a person), I quickly called Husband to get his thoughts. Husband, mind you, has never played an instrument, though he told me several times how much he wished he could play piano. SO, this was not a purely self-motivated phone call, but something I thought would be a great treat for him and that was not so over-the-top we would break the bank. When husband saw the pics. he told me with no hesitation to “get it”. And, of course, not wanting to argue, I did. While I wasn’t out looking for a piano that day, we’d already decided we would get a piano when we move in a couple of months.

Until the last few years, a piano was always part of my life and for me, a home just doesn’t seem complete without it–so I was terribly excited to have a piano again! There was only one issue with this particular piano. While I try not to judge, I couldn’t help myself. If I’d have not immediately been struck with the dream to nurture this piano into 2011 and make her into what I knew she could be, I would have never looked twice at her. BUT, I did look twice and couldn’t wait to bring her home and let the makeover begin.

With the help of my dear friend, Joanne (yes, the same one who took in the fumes with me as my night stands were revamped), and the patience of the greatest little guy ever (we like to call him Luke;), we successfully breathed new life into the old lady and turned her into the young lass she was crying out to become. Now, since a lady never kisses on the first date, I can’t go sharing the final pictures with you just yet. I want you to come back for the big reveal and until then, enjoy dreaming of something you would love to do for fun. Here are some pics. of the transformation beginning–the dis-assembly and getting ready.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. JoJo says:

    Ooooohhhh… I can’t wait to see the finished piano! 😉

  2. Husband says:

    Wife, I can’t wait to learn how to play the beautiful new piano… thank you!

Leave a Reply

