Timeless-n-Trendy: A Day in the Life of Two Land-Locked Creatives

The last few weeks have been incredibly busy–but that’s a good thing and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I don’t know how people can get through life not doing anything…the topic of laziness is for another post, another time. You know me, I’m bound to get around to that one:)! Because of keeping myself occupied though, I have not focused on updating you fine people on my random thoughts via this blog. I really didn’t think anyone would notice, but it turns out they did! And can I just say “thank you”? Yes, it turns out I can. So, “thank you” for taking notice and asking when I’d be back at it. Because of certain emails (especially on the heresy post) and comments I’ve received, I’m feeling much better about my forthrightness in sharing what I believe needs to be said. It turns out many of us are thinking the exact same things– the only difference is I write what I think and other people keep it bottled up. I’m incredibly grateful to those who have told me they are always excited to see what I’m going to say because I don’t fluff over things in order to pacify the masses. It’s really refreshing to hear such things because most people don’t comment but I know they’re reading based on the stats. So, I truly thank you for speaking those needed words to me, for emailing your thoughts, and of course, for the handful of people who actually comment on the blog–a HUGE thank you!

Since much of what I do write is bound to tick off certain sects of people, and since it’s been a few weeks since my last post, I thought this update would be on something lighthearted and fun. As you know, this is not a blog about cooking, crafts and decorating (though I do love two of those three things), but this post is to share what my friend Joanne and I did as a project this week. Please visit her blog when you have time. She is incredibly talented and despite self reservations, TRULY CREATIVE! Most of all, she is genuinely a friend!!! Honestly, I wish I could give you a peek into her home because it is stunning! But if you ever need someone to help put your personality in your place and not all things generic (though she can certainly do that too), she’s the only decorator to speak with. All that to say, the following is from Joanne’s blog, Timeless-n-Trendy, on our little project this week. I am loving that my night stands have a new lease on life and I am loving having such a great friend to do things like this with. Here’s Joanne’s blog (stop by her page and see all the things she does):

Friday, June 3, 2011
Creative Type
I have slowly been coming around to the realization that I am a creative type. I like to create. I need something creative to do every day. Even if it’s little. Or even if it’s big.

Creative according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary:
1cre·a·tive adj \krē-ˈā-tiv, ˈkrē-ˌ\
Definition of CREATIVE
1: marked by the ability or power to create : given tocreating creative impulse>
2: having the quality of something created rather than imitated : imaginative creative arts>
3: managed so as to get around legal or conventional limits; also : deceptively arranged so as to conceal or defraud
— cre·a·tive·ly adverb
— cre·a·tive·ness noun

Hum… maybe… but, definitely NOT definition #3.

None-the-less, I have a friend who is DEFINITELY creative! Off the charts, creative! Love her and LOVE the creativity!

So, we got together for a little transformation project…
We revamped her side tables!
BEFORE
Solid construction. They just needed some TLC and a touch-up.
Something a little more glamorous with a little funky touch.
So, we first dismantled them.
The plan was to spray paint all the pieces.

The legs were going to remain silver, but more of a vibrant shiny silver.

See the difference.
The body of the side tables were painted white. A glossy white, but the off-brand spray paint didn’t really bring about the sheen that we were going after. So, we ended up adding a clear gloss finish by Rust-oleum.

Hard at work.

We spray painted the knobs to match the legs, but this is where we decided to add the FUNK.

There are so many nice and funky knobs out there. It was a tough decision, but we went with these from World Market instead of utilizing the existing hardware.

See how they look on the glossy white drawers?

BEFORE

AFTER

I think mission was accomplished.

Revamped, refreshed, glamorous… yet…. funky!

But, not with some lessons learned along the way:

1. June in Texas is too hot and humid for spray painting outdoors. Cracks, weird chemical reactions and BUGS destroy your progress, get you frustrated, and overall adds a load of “defects” to your finished product.

2. Wood-filler would have been a good option to use at the beginning to fill in some of the evidence of wear.

3. Primer would have been a good option to use on the legs first. Just to provide better adherence to the paint.

4. I will ONLY be using NAME brand spray paints!!!

5. And yes, wear a mask when you are spraying inside drawers. The fumes definitely do a number and come back at you making you feel all funny.

But, all-in-all:

Creative outlet for the week = completed.

Time with friend = priceless.

Completed + Priceless = Successful!

I think I already have an itch to repeat that equation sometime soon…stay tuned!

Brought to U by Timeless-n-Trendy

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Joanne Herda says:

    I’m reading 🙂

    Love it! And loooooove you…. creative-girl!

  2. Kristen says:

    You can come revamp my furniture any day!! Hehe

  3. Joanne says:

    I linked Gab-A-Lot up today on a new post.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

