Heresy Lives On

I’m often quite tickled by the completely different groups of people in my life. I can look over my list of acquaintances and friends to find: Christians (of many denominations), agnostics, Jews, Muslims, gays, straights and people from all different parts of the globe. You name the type, and I could probably point you to an expert in the field. I’m thankful my background afforded me the opportunity to meet so many interesting people because they’ve each played a distinct role in sharpening and shaping my own beliefs. Rather than cutting people from my life because we disagree on major issues, I believe in living to love and conversing with them, always willing and ready to give answers to their questions (1 Peter 3:15).

Right now I’m thinking about my neighbors, both of whom are self-professing atheists. My conversations with these men always leave me vividly aware of what so many non-Christians believe about all Christians. For example, my new friends assumed I shared the same beliefs they’d seen via heretical teaching on television. Since they aren’t in a church and didn’t have any Bible reading friends/acquaintances (until me), the television was all they had to go from. The sadness and surprise I felt when I realized the impact those who so many Christians have long recognized as completely unbiblical, continue having on society, seems grossly overlooked within Christendom these days. With all that’s going on in the world constantly grasping and deserving our attention, we’re not taking as much time to speak out against false teachers–unless, of course, the controversy is stirred up because one of them released a highly publicized book of late (a-hem *Rob Bell*). We who are Christians have mistakenly assumed the rest of the population outside our “holy huddle”, knows we completely disagree with certain sects of “christianity”. I’ve come to realize, thanks to my neighbors, this issue is still very real and one we need to seriously combat.

So, in honor of the Bible I believe, the Christ I love, and all those who may think similarly to my neighbors, I’m posting some pictures and calling these “teachers” out as unbiblical and heretical. Some of you may laugh at me because this seems so elementary, and yet, we have a responsibility to defend Truth and speak out against those who are not accurately teaching Scripture. It’s not up to us whether or not another comes to faith in Christ, but it is up to us to be responsible in giving them the opportunity, and that can only happen when the Word of God (not the Word of Faith movement), is presented to them. Here’s reality: the people we’ve long known as unscriptural, continue having a massive impact on those who don’t believe. These are not teachers of the Bible, and the ways in which they twist and contort God’s Word is heresy at its finest. So, without further adieux, I give you a very small sampling of some of the more familiar faces of false teachers we’ve come to know over the years.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Chris says:

    So true! Great post! šŸ™‚

    1. Gab-A-Lot says:

      Thank you, sir. I appreciate you taking a moment to read it:)!

  2. Leslie says:

    Very good post. I agree wholeheartedly with what you wrote!

  3. Anastasia says:

    AMEN! I have a few relatives who believe, and send money to these people. I’ve been told I was going to hell for not doing so. =)

Leave a Reply

