Today To-Do’s

Today I’m working from home for the first time in a long time. What this means is I have the opportunity to truly get much accomplished and change the world. Or at the very least, mark several things off the lengthy “to-do” list I’ve managed to successfully continue growing. So, in an effort to hold myself accountable to all you fine meandering folks, here’s what’s happening (or going to happen) today:

1) Have dinner ready for Husband when he comes home. In all respects, it’s safe to say this WILL happen *Go Me!!!*. I started this going in the barely used/much like-new Crock Pot at 6 a.m., so she’s well on her way:
* 1 trimmed roast (chuck, because it was on sale and I’m not domesticated enough at this point to know the difference)
* 1 can reduced fat cream of mushroom soup
* 1 packet dry onion soup mix
* Cajun rub & a tiny bit of Worcestershire sauce (I combined two recipes–thank you, www.food.com)
In the end I’m hoping it will look something like this guy:

2) Download new writing software and dedicate at least three hours to developing book today. Progress/Self-Check: Downloaded the software and successfully made it interruption free for two half-hour blocks. I’m on my way because it’s not even noon yet. Number two is crucial for today.

3) TAXES! I started this process a few weeks ago and due to incorrect information on the good old W-2, I had to hold off on finishing. Goal: Turn this puppy in today so I can receive some of my own money back.

4) Check on a gift I ordered for one of my lifelong friends who’s having her first baby. I haven’t received a confirmation email and it’s been nearly three weeks since I ordered it from Target. Here’s what she’s getting from me:

Just FYI, the baby sling was on her registry–the butt paste is just because I care:). Seriously, though, most people aren’t aware that I’ve worked extensively as a nanny (college/after grad. school). Oh yes–I’ve done my time. Here’s what I learned: 1) One of the families should not have had children since I was more of the mom than the nanny. 2) Boudreaux’s Butt Paste is a miracle. I may not be a mom, but having literally given 24/7 care to infants/toddlers in my day, this stuff is fantastic. Since I mentioned #1, I need to also say the other families mean the world to me and are incredible–that was just a serious horror story for the former nanny;).

5) Deal with the ENT. They owe us a refund of $200 and seeing as how the check was to be cut and in the mail a month ago, I’m thinking they’ve forgotten or they’re hoping we will forget. Actually, now that I’ve written this, I’ll be checking-up on it immediately after pressing “Publish”. This particular office staff gets nearly two hours for lunch and they don’t have one of those fancy, ground-breaking items called an answering machine. I kid you not.

6) Get out of this place with a nice walk around the neighborhood. If raining, I’ll go to the gym, but the goal today is to see the great outdoors and fall even more in love with the Lord.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. That is one ambitious list!
    It also reminds me that I need to get away from this screen and into the kitchen.
    Hope to see an update on your achivevements.

    1. Gab-A-Lot says:

      Your comment made my morning and I’m happy to report I’m off to a good start:)! I already took care of the Target follow-up, $ from the ENT and the taxes are almost done (strong emphasis on almost:). I’m feeling very productive and completely atypical for myself. It would be great if I could keep this going for more than a day. I hope you’re in the kitchen and enjoying the day! Best to you!

Leave a Reply

