Breaking News

The first thing I did as I walked to my car was thank the Lord over and over again. Then, I called my husband and shared the news. Now I want the whole world (or at least those who cruise by my blog) to know that I’ve just accepted the position of Producer with Point of View. You can’t hear me, but I keep saying “yay” in my head.

Excited does not even express how wonderful I feel at this very moment. I’ve put in plenty of time in the world of radio and entertainment–first as a recording artist, then a copywriter and voiceover gal–and of course I worked in the world of promotions.Needless to say I’ve also spent lots of hours studying to receive the papers that pleasantly adorn my wall–said papers have often stared me in the face with a big, fat, WHY???

I have many passions in life, but my passion for sharing the love of Christ with the world surpasses them all. Trying to fit my seminary and broadcast educations together in a position that was a fit has been quite the challenge, though–as you’d likely expect. I don’t really fit into secular jobs as they put me in situations that compromise my beliefs–on the other hand, the church positions don’t usually allow for much interaction outside of those four walls. That being said, through all of the oddities that arise because of my unique predicament, I am often reminded of Romans 8:28–God causes ALL things to work together for good for those who love Him. I do love Him and know His plans are perfect even when I don’t understand. Nonetheless, I am human and there have been many a moment where I’ve begun to question my gifts and what I felt/feel called to do in life. In all those times, however, God has affirmed what He’s placed within me–the dreams, passions and skills that are mine to use to glorify Him. The past couple of years have been some of the most rewarding in my walk with God because of some very trying times, and through all that’s happened, He has continued to prove Himself so very faithful.

Just a couple of weeks ago I was busy writing copy for clients, recording some demos and trying to be the best Children’s Director I could. Here’s the thing–I’m a creative, and as much as I wanted to fit into the Children’s Director role, I just couldn’t. Through that situation, though, my heart was no longer able to deny the obvious truth that I longed, and needed to fully use my background and gifts. No one other than God, myself and Husband knew what was going on inside me, and I just continued praying that the right door would open and that I would have the faith to walk through.

The same week I decided to let the church know I would no longer be available to help in the Children’s area, I received an email from a man I met several years ago with another broadcast company. This man, who I won’t name out of respect (though it should be “Awesome”:), said he did not want his email to offend me, but was wondering if I would be interested in a producer position with another program he knew was looking. Aside from being floored that he remembered me–much less thought to write me, I was overwhelmed with the absolute affirmation that God did indeed prepare and equip me in the areas I was passionate about. In that moment, I knew that even if I was not invited to interview for the position, my prayers were still answered.

Obviously you now know the rest of the story, as Paul Harvey would say. But to sum up, I wrote this gracious man AKA “Awesome”, back, and told him how much I appreciated him thinking of me and that I would be honored if he would pass my resume along. Within a few days I found myself meeting with the President of Point of View and was so excited about the possibility to be affiliated with a broadcast program that was not just “Christian” in name, but in what they actually stand for. While I did not know that I would be offered the position, I was just so grateful to have met more people who believed as I do about using media for good rather than the typical scenarios. When I went in for the second time today, I met all the staff (so kind) and Congressman Louie Gohmert, who simply said “Hi, I’m Louie”, when he introduced himself. What made this day even better was seeing how genuine the people on staff are–to have the opportunity to be part of such a deeply rooted, forward thinking, broadcast ministry, is indescribable and I am blessed beyond words. This role encompasses everything I care most about–bringing a biblical world view to a society in desperate need of the truth without compromise. What a great gift!

If you are a believer and care to pray for me, and Point of View, as we embark on this new venture, your prayers are most appreciated.

Praise the Lord, O my soul! I will praise the LORD as long as I live! I will praise the LORD as long as I exist! Psalm 146:1-2

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Scott says:

    I am so happy for you….He was a nice guy when he called!

  2. Tiffany says:

    Gabbie – we are so excited for you! You have dealt with so much in the past couple of years and it’s great to see His great plan unfolding in your life!
    (p.s. – send me your new phone number – I tried to call you last week and I got some random guy)

  3. Amber says:

    Gabbie! So happy for you! I enjoy reading your blog posts so much! I look forward to hearing about your future experiences!

  4. Melissa says:

    Praise God! I was just thinking about you earlier this week. I will continue to pray for you and will pray for Point of View as well. God is so faithful and trustworthy. Miss you, Roomie.

  5. Joanne says:

    OK… G-I-R-L! I am just beaming about your news! Praising the Lord with you and standing in AWE of how He was so obviously working!!!!!

    I will FAITHFULLY continue to pray for you and all that God has in store for you.

    PRAISE GOD!

  6. Linda says:

    This is totally FAB! I loved your blog story…you are a really good writer too! So talented. This is a blessing, the perfect job that was waiting for the perfect person to fill it. Pray that I find the same kind of “destination” in my …own job search. Marrying faith with a livelihood is often a difficult thing to find. I am looking though!

    If you have a chance, look up the story of Falling Whistles. I have a link on my FB page to their site. It’s an awesome, inspiring mission to save children. Take care and all my best!

  7. Valerie says:

    So super thrilled for you!!!! YAY! YAY! YAY!!!

Leave a Reply

